- Associated Press - Thursday, December 24, 2015

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Residents in 16 Texas counties that suffered damage and flooding from severe thunderstorms in late October will now be eligible to apply for federal funds to aid in their recovery.

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott said Thursday that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved his request for public assistance for the affected counties.

Abbott thanked FEMA, saying state and federal officials are working together to ensure that “all Texans receive the assistance they need to continue to rebuild their lives following the devastating floods earlier this year.”

The counties approved for public assistance are: Bastrop, Bosque, Caldwell, Comal, Guadalupe, Hays, Hidalgo, Hill, Jasper, Liberty, Navarro, Newton, Travis, Walker, Willacy and Wilson.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide