- Associated Press - Sunday, December 27, 2015

Jan. 18, 1976

At Miami_80,187

Dallas 7..3..0..7_17

Pittsburgh 7..0..0.14_21

The Steelers won the Super Bowl for the second consecutive year on Terry Bradshaw’s 64-yard touchdown pass to Lynn Swann and an aggressive defense that snuffed out a late rally by the Cowboys.

Leading 15-10 in the fourth quarter, Bradshaw withstood a ferocious Cowboys rush to unleash his scoring strike to Swann. Swann, known for his spectacular catches, made four receptions for 161 yards, and was voted the game’s MVP.

Dallas came back on a Roger Staubach-to-Percy Howard 34-yard TD pass to close within four points. Then with 1:22 to go, Pittsburgh gave up the ball on downs. Staubach picked up a couple of first downs, but his desperation pass on the last play of the game was picked off by Glen Edwards in the end zone.



AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org and https://twitter.com/AP_NFL

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide