- Associated Press - Thursday, December 3, 2015

SYDNEY (AP) - The first six members of Australia’s sailing team for next year’s Rio Olympics have been selected, including three gold medalists from London in 2012.

The Australian Olympic Committee said Friday that Mathew Belcher, the 470 champion from London, will attempt to defend his title in Rio. Will Ryan pairs with Belcher, replacing the retired Malcolm Page.

London Olympic champions Nathan Outteridge and Iain Jensen will return in the 49er class, while cousins Lisa Darmanin and Jason Waterhouse will make their Olympic debut in the Nacra 17 mixed multi-hull.

Outteridge and Jensen have also sailed for Sweden’s Artemis Racing in the America’s Cup.

Sailing at the Rio Olympics will take place from Aug. 8-19 at Marina da Gloria in the Copacabana region of Rio.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide