- Associated Press - Thursday, December 3, 2015

BILLINGS, Mont. (AP) - The Montana Department of Revenue is requiring retailers who want to sell electronic cigarette products to get a new state license beginning Jan. 1.

Agency officials said Wednesday that they are mailing postcards to retailers statewide reminding them to acquire a new Alternative Nicotine or Vapor Products License to sell e-cigarettes, vaping mods, vaping juice and other related equipment.

Department of Revenue spokeswoman Mary Ann Dunwell says the license costs $5 and can be renewed annually. Retailers who don’t have a license will be subject to a $100 fine.

The license requirement was part of Montana Senate Bill 66, which also requires those purchasing electronic cigarettes to be over the age of 18.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide