- Associated Press - Thursday, December 3, 2015

Sporting Kansas City forward Krisztian Nemeth won the MLS Goal of the Year award while Portland Timbers goalkeeper Adam Kwarasey won the Save of the Year award.

The awards announced Thursday were decided by votes on Major League Soccer’s official website.

Nemeth finished with 10 goals in his first MLS season. He won for his 10th, a goal against Kwarasey in Portland on Oct. 3, which gave Sporting a 1-0 victory over the Timbers.

Kwarasey’s save came at Real Salt Lake on Aug. 15. Kwarasey lunged to save Luke Mulholland’s blast from distance that appeared headed for the upper right corner of the goal. The Timbers won 1-0.

The awards were announced in advance of the MLS Cup championship game between the Timbers and the Columbus Crew on Sunday.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide