- Associated Press - Sunday, February 1, 2015

WASHINGTON (AP) - The U.S. Interior Department has nominated 10 buildings in seven states designed by architect Frank Lloyd Wright - including the iconic home known as Fallingwater in western Pennsylvania - for inclusion on the World Heritage List of the world’s most significant cultural and natural sites.

U.S. Secretary of the Interior Sally Jewell announced the nominations Friday, saying Wright “is widely considered to be the greatest American architect of the 20th century.”

Wright’s buildings would become the nation’s first modern architecture to be added to the list, which includes modern structures elsewhere such as the Sydney Opera House and the city of Brasilia, the capital of Brazil, the Bauhaus School in Germany.

Fallingwater, a National Historic Landmark in Mill Run about 65 miles southeast of Pittsburgh, was built over a waterfall. The modern design, nestled into a rock mountainside, attracted immediate attention and was featured on the cover of Time magazine in 1938.

The other Wright buildings nominated are:

- Unity Temple in Oak Park, Illinois;

- Frederick C. Robie House in Chicago, Illinois;

- Taliesin in Spring Green, Wisconsin;

- Hollyhock House in Los Angeles, California;

- Herbert and Katherine Jacobs House in Madison, Wisconsin;

- Taliesin West in Scottsdale, Arizona;

- Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City;

- Price Tower in Bartlesville, Oklahoma; and

- Marin County Civic Center in San Rafael, California.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide