- Associated Press - Tuesday, February 10, 2015

AUCKLAND, New Zealand (AP) - Mexico has been drawn with 2013 runner-up Uruguay, Serbia and an African qualifier in what may in a tough Group D for this year’s Under-20 Football World Cup in New Zealand.

Brazil will face the African champion, North Korea and Hungary in Group E after the draw in Auckland on Tuesday which saw the United States pooled in Group A against host New Zealand, Ukraine and first-time qualifier Myanmar.

Germany faces Uzbekistan, Honduras and another first-timer, Fiji, in Group F, while Argentina, Panama, Australia and the third-placed African qualifier are in Group B. Group C is made up of Qatar, Colombia, Portugal and the fourth-place African side

New Zealand and Ukraine will meet in the opening match of the tournament which is held from May 30 to June 20.

The African Under-20 Championships, which will decide four World Cup spots, will take place in Senegal from Mar. 8 to 22.

France, the 2013 champion, did not qualify for this year’s tournament.

FIFA vice-president Jeffrey Webb said the Under-20 world tournament is famous for its ability to create new stars.

“Several of the players who have starred in previous FIFA Under-20 World Cups played at last year’s FIFA World Cup in Brazil, such as James Rodriguez and Paul Pogba,” said Webb, who is also chairman of the tournament’s organizing committee.



Group A (Auckland): New Zealand, Ukraine, United States, Myanmar.

Group B (Wellington): Argentina, Panama, CAF 3, Australia.

Group C (Hamilton): Qatar, Colombia, Portugal, CAF 4.

Group D (Dunedin): Mexico, CAF 2, Uruguay, Serbia.

Group E (New Plymouth): CAF Champion, Brazil, North Korea, Hungary.

Group F (Christchurch): Germany, Fiji, Uzbekistan, Honduras.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide