- Associated Press - Tuesday, February 10, 2015

RICHMOND, Va. (AP) - Virginia’s burn law will go into effect Sunday when the spring wildfire season begins.

The law prohibits outdoor burning before 4 p.m. Burning is allowed between 4 p.m. and midnight. Violators face a fine of up to $500. Anyone who allows a fire to escape is liable for any property damage, along with the cost of suppressing the fire.

The season begins Sunday and runs through April 30.

State Forester Bettina Ring says in a news release that people burning trash or debris cause 37 percent of wildfires in Virginia each year.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide