- Associated Press - Thursday, February 19, 2015

JUNEAU, Alaska (AP) - Gov. Bill Walker has appointed three new members to the board of the Alaska Gasline Development Corp.

They are Hugh Short, chairman and CEO of a private equity firm focused on Arctic investments; and former legislators Rick Halford and Joe Paskvan. The appointments are subject to legislative confirmation and likely to come under scrutiny from legislators smarting from Walker’s removal of three other board members, including a former pipeline executive from Texas.

Walker had said he wanted Alaskans on the board, as well as greater geographic representation. He also said he saw this as a lay board, not a professional board.

Rep. Mike Hawker said he would try to make certain that the appointees have technical skills commensurate with those they are replacing.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide