- Associated Press - Monday, February 2, 2015

SAN ANTONIO (AP) - Drivers who are caught talking on their cellphone without a hands-free device will now be subjects to tickets in San Antonio.

The San Antonio Express-News reports (https://bit.ly/1CQZ9FG ) a 30-day grace period ended Sunday for the city’s new driving ordinance that began Jan. 1.

The rule prohibits drivers from holding phones while in traffic or at a stoplight. Drivers must use speakerphone or a Bluetooth device to make calls. Texting is also prohibited.

The newspaper reports the ordinance does not apply to drivers who are operating an emergency vehicle, driving on private property or reporting illegal activity to law enforcement.

Violators will be subject to a fine of up to $200.



___

Information from: San Antonio Express-News, https://www.mysanantonio.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide