- Associated Press - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

MONTPELIER, Vt. (AP) - Ten of Vermont’s 14 counties have been declared federal disaster areas, which will help defray the costs of repairing public and utility infrastructure that was damaged or destroyed in the storms that hit the state last month.

The declaration means the affected areas will be eligible for federal reimbursement for up to 75 percent of the costs of storm response and recovery.

More than 130,000 electric customers lost power in the Dec. 9-12 storms in which heavy, wet snow fell across the state. The 10 covered counties suffered nearly $4-million in damages.

Communities and municipal and cooperative utilities can be reimbursed for expenses such as equipment rentals, fuel, the cost of contractor assistance, employee overtime tied directly to storm response and restoration, and other eligible expenses.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide