- Associated Press - Tuesday, February 3, 2015

STAUNTON, Va. (AP) - Fifteen private colleges in Virginia will share in an $800,000 federal grant to give solar power a foothold on their campuses.

The News Leader (https://bit.ly/1KlBfm4 ) reports that the U.S. Department of Energy SunShot Initiative will fund the planning phase of a long-term initiative to get solar power on college campuses.

The grant was awarded to the Council of Independent Colleges in Virginia.

The 15 colleges involved in the initiative are Appalachian School of Law, Bridgewater College, Eastern Mennonite University, Emory & Henry College, Ferrum College, Hampton University, Hollins University, Lynchburg College, Mary Baldwin College, Marymount University, Randolph College, Roanoke College, Shenandoah University, Virginia Union University and Washington & Lee University.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide