- Associated Press - Wednesday, February 4, 2015

WASHINGTON (AP) - Wynton Marsalis is unveiling one of his newest musical compositions in the Washington area, featuring the blues with a full symphony orchestra.

Marsalis will debut his “Blues Symphony” Wednesday night at the Music Center at Strathmore in Bethesda, Maryland. The performance with a 100-piece symphony is the culmination of Marsalis’ residency with the Shenandoah Conservatory Symphony Orchestra, organized by Washington Performing Arts.

“Blues Symphony” was composed in seven movements as a celebration of the blues, heard through moments in African-American history. The performance will also feature the Wynton Marsalis Quintet. The composition reflects the Pulitzer Prize-winning composer’s expertise in blues, jazz and other traditional American music.

This is the premiere for the newly completed work. It was partially unveiled in 2009 by the Atlanta Symphony Orchestra and then was revised.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide