- Associated Press - Monday, January 12, 2015

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) - Illinois’ statewide constitutional officers have taken their oaths of office at an inaugural ceremony in Springfield.

Republican businesswoman Leslie Munger was sworn into her first tem as comptroller on Monday. New GOP Gov. Bruce Rauner named her to replace Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka, who died after winning a second term in November.

Evelyn Sanguinetti was sworn in as Rauner’s lieutenant governor. Democratic Attorney General Lisa Madigan was sworn into a fourth term and Democrat Jesse White was sworn into his fifth term as secretary of state. And Democrat Michael Frerichs - a former state senator - was sworn into his first term as treasurer.

White is the longest-serving secretary of state in Illinois history.

Each of the constitutional officeholders planned open houses Monday afternoon at their offices.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide