- Associated Press - Monday, January 12, 2015

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - The Missouri House and Senate leaders announced Monday which lawmakers would chair committees for the 2015 session.

In the House, the regular standing committees will be overseen by select standing committees, providing two layers of oversight in the bill drafting process, House Speaker John Diehl said in a statement. There are 55 committees in the House.

Changes to Senate committees this year include adding public safety issues to topics addressed by a committee that previously only dealt with transportation and infrastructure, which Senate President Pro Tem Tom Dempsey said will mean members now can tackle bills addressing concerns raised after a white Ferguson police officer fatally shot a black 18-year-old.

Dempsey said the committee will hear bills to require that police wear body cameras and legislation to curb when police can use deadly force, among others.

The Senate committees and chairs are:

Agriculture, Food Production and Outdoor Resources, Sen. Brian Munzlinger, R-Williamstown

Appropriations, Sen. Kurt Schaefer, R-Columbia

Commerce, Consumer Protection, Energy and the Environment, Sen. Mike Kehoe, R-Jefferson City

Education, Sen. David Pearce, R-Warrensburg

Financial and Government Organizations and Elections, Sen. Jay Wasson, R-Nixa

General Laws and Pensions, Sen. Rob Schaaf, R-St. Joseph

Governmental Accountability and Fiscal Oversight, Sen. Mike Cunningham, R-Rogersville

Jobs, Economic Development and Local Government, Sen. Eric Schmitt, R-Glendale

Judiciary and Civil and Criminal Jurisprudence, Sen. Bob Dixon, R-Springfield

Progress and Development, Sen. Joe Keaveny, D-St. Louis

Seniors, Families and Children, Sen. David Sater, R-Cassville

Small Business, Insurance and Industry, Sen. Mike Parson, R-Bolivar

Transportation, Infrastructure and Public Safety, Sen. Doug Libla, R-Poplar Bluff

Veterans’ Affairs and Health, Sen. Dan Brown, R-Rolla

Ways and Means, Sen. Will Kraus, R-Lee’s Summit

The House regular standing committees and the chairs are:

Administration and Accounts, Rep. Mike Leara, R-St. Louis

Agriculture Policy, Rep. Jay Houghton, R-Martinsburg

Appropriations- Agriculture, Conservation, and Natural Resources, Rep. Craig Redmon, R-Canton

Appropriations- Elementary and Secondary Education, Rep. Kurt Bahr, R-St. Charles

Appropriations- Health, Mental Health and Social Services, Rep. Marsha Haefner, R-St. Louis

Appropriations- Higher Education- Rep. Donna Lichtenegger, R-Jackson

Appropriations- General Administration, Rep. Robert Ross, R-Yukon

Appropriations- Public Safety and Corrections, Rep. Kathie Conway, R-St. Charles

Appropriations- Revenue, Transportation, and Economic Development, Rep. Lincoln Hough, R-Springfield

Banking, Rep. Sandy Crawford, R-Buffalo

Children and Families, Rep. Diane Franklin, R-Camdenton

Civil and Criminal Proceedings, Rep. Robert Cornejo, R-St. Peters

Conservation and Natural Resources, Rep. Sonya Murray-Anderson, R-Springfield

Consumer Affairs, Rep. Mark Parkinson, R-St. Charles

Corrections, Rep. Paul Fitzwater, R-Potosi

Economic Development and Business Attraction and Retention, Rep. Caleb Rowden, R-Columbia

Elections, Rep. Sue Entlicher, R-Bolivar

Elementary and Secondary Education, Rep. Kathy Swan, R-Cape Girardeau

Emerging Issues, Rep. Elijah Haahr, R-Springfield

Emerging Issues in Education, Rep. Lyle Rowland, R-Cedarcreek

Employment Security, Rep. Wanda Brown, R-Cole Camp

Energy and the Environment, Rep. Rocky Miller, R-Lake Ozark

Ethics, Rep. Todd Richardson, R-Poplar Bluff

Fiscal Review- Rep. Sue Allen, R-Town and Country

Government Efficiency, Rep. Paul Curtman, R-Union

Government Oversight and Accountability, Rep. Jay Barnes, R-Jefferson City

Health and Mental Health Policy, Rep. Keith Frederick, R-Rolla

Health Insurance, Rep. Jim Hansen, R-Frankford

Higher Education, Rep. Steve Cookson, R-Poplar Bluff

Local Government, Rep. Dave Hinson, R-St. Clair

Pensions, Rep. Nate Walker, R-Kirksville

Professional Registration, Rep. Eric Burlison, R-Springfield

Property, Casualty Insurance, and Life Insurance, Rep. Noel Shull, R-Kansas City

Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Rep. Shawn Rhoads, R-West Plains

Small Business, Rep. John McCaherty, R-High Ridge

Telecommunications, Rep. Bart Korman, R-High Hill

Trade and Tourism, Rep. Don Phillips, R-Kimberling City

Transportation, Rep. Glen Kolkmeyer, R-Odessa

Utility Infrastructure, Rep. Lyndall Fraker, R-Marshfield

Veterans, Rep. Charlie Davis, R-Webb City

Ways and Means, Rep. Andrew Koenig, R-Manchester

Workforce Standards and Development, Rep. Bill Lant, R-Pineville

The House select committees and chairs for the House are:

Agriculture, Rep. Bill Reiboldt, R-Neosho

Budget, Rep. Tom Flanigan, R-Carthage

Commerce, Rep. Anne Zerr, R-St. Charles

Education, Rep. Mike Lair, R-Chillicothe

Financial Institutions and Taxation, Rep. Tony Dugger, R-Hartville

General Laws, Rep. Caleb Jones, R-Columbia

Insurance, Rep. Don Gosen, R-Ballwin

Judiciary, Rep. Kevin Austin, R-Springfield

Labor and Industrial Relations, Rep. Holly Rehder, R-Sikeston

Rules, Rep. Kevin Engler, R-Farmington

Social Services, Rep. Sue Allen, R-Town and Country

State and Local Governments, Rep. Sheila Solon, R-Blue Springs

Utilities, Rep. T.J. Berry, R-Kearney

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide