- Associated Press - Thursday, January 15, 2015

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - More than two dozen Kentucky law enforcement agencies will be able to cross jurisdictional boundaries when investigating crime under a new program.

Bluegrass and Central Kentucky Unified Police Protection System, or BACKUPPS, was announced Wednesday by Justice and Public Safety Secretary J. Michael Brown.

BACKUPPS includes 26 central Kentucky law enforcement agencies in 15 contiguous counties.

Department of Criminal Justice Training Commissioner John W. Bizzack says the law making the cooperative effort possible has been around for a while but never used to this extent.

Included are sheriff’s offices in Bourbon, Boyle, Clark, Franklin, Grant, Mercer, Montgomery, Owen, Powell, Scott and Woodford counties and police in Clay City, Cynthiana, Danville, Frankfort, Georgetown, Harrodsburg, Lancaster, Mount Sterling, Nicholasville, Owenton, Paris, Stanton, Versailles, Winchester and the University of Kentucky.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide