- Associated Press - Wednesday, January 21, 2015

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (AP) - A Sisseton lawyer has been re-elected as chairwoman of the South Dakota Board of Pardons and Paroles

Kay Nikolas is a former Roberts County state’s attorney. Chief Justice David Gilbertson appointed her to the board in 2009.

Mark Smith, of Pierre, was re-elected to serve as vice-chairman. He was a 2013 appointment to the board by Gov. Dennis Daugaard.

The board consists of nine members, with the governor, chief justice of the Supreme Court and the attorney general each appointing three members. One of the appointees by each authority must be an attorney.

The board holds hearings and takes action on inmate petitions for parole and makes recommendations to the governor on requests for clemency.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide