- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 27, 2015

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - The names of North Carolina’s new House committee chairs are noteworthy both for those who will run the most powerful committees and those who won’t.

New House Speaker Tim Moore released the list of committee chairs Tuesday, the day before the General Assembly reconvenes to get this year’s work session up and running.

Rep. Nelson Dollar, R-Wake, will remain senior chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, as he was the past two years under then-Speaker Thom Tillis, R-Mecklenburg.

But two previous “big chairs,” a reference to the top budget-writers working together with Dollar, are out as co-chairmen - Reps. Bryan Holloway, R-Stokes and Justin Burr, R-Stanly. Replacing them are Reps. Chuck McGrady, R-Henderson and Donny Lambeth, R-Forsyth. Rep. Linda Johnson, R-Cabarrus, remains one of the top budget-writers.

Both Holloway and Burr ran in the speaker’s race last November among House Republicans, losing to Moore. While Holloway remains a co-chair of the education budget subcommittee, Burr was not on Moore’s list of those receiving a full or co-chairmanship.

Fourteen-term Rep. Julia Howard, R-Davie, is no longer senior chair of the Finance Committee, a position she held for the past four years. She was replaced by Reps. Bill Brawley, R-Mecklenburg, and Jason Saine, R-Lincoln.

Howard has been a political rival of Moore and at times in her career bucked positions held by the majority of House Republicans.

Howard said Monday she was told Moore had replaced her with someone more supportive of Moore’s agenda.

The finance post has “been lots of extra hours, but it is what it is,” Howard told the Winston-Salem Journal (https://bit.ly/1ztgLbs ). “I will go to another committee and do the same.”

Moore spokeswoman Mollie Young said Tuesday the speaker “worked hard to align each representative’s talents and abilities with the caucus’ vision for the future of North Carolina.”

Howard was also replaced as co-chair of the House Ethics Committee by Rep. John Faircloth, R-Guilford. She did receive a new leadership post - co-chairing the House Banking Committee with Rep. Charles Jeter, R-Mecklenburg.

Two Democrats received chairmanships - Rep. Rick Glazier, D-Cumberland, will co-chair the ethics committee, while Rep. Bill Brisson, D-Bladen, will share responsibilities on the health budget subcommittee.

Rep. Paul Tine of Dare County, a former Democrat who changed his voter affiliation to unaffiliated this month and now caucuses with Republicans, is a co-chairman of the transportation budget subcommittee.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide