- Associated Press - Monday, January 5, 2015

PROVIDENCE, R.I. (AP) - The 113 members of the Rhode Island General Assembly are being sworn in this week as the 2015-2016 session opens.

Tuesday’s ceremonies are scheduled to begin at 4 p.m.

All 75 members of the House of Representatives and 38 members of the Senate will take the oath of office. Secretary of State Nellie Gorbea (gor-BAY’-uh) will administer the oaths during separate ceremonies. She is being sworn in earlier Tuesday.

Fifteen newly elected representatives and three newly elected senators will be sworn in.

The members are expected to re-elect Rep. Nicholas Mattiello of Cranston as House speaker, and Sen. Teresa Paiva Weed of Newport as Senate president. They are each scheduled to address their chambers.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide