- Associated Press - Friday, January 9, 2015

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - Gov. Dennis Daugaard has made two appointments to the South Dakota Board of Education.

Daugaard has appointed Deb Shephard, of Watertown, and has reappointed Don Kirkegaard, of Sturgis. The nine members of the board serve four-year terms.

Kirkegaard is the superintendent of the Meade School District. He has served on the board since 2006.

Shephard recently retired from Lake Area Tech after a 36-year career. She worked as an instructor before serving as president for eight years. Shephard is replacing Richard Gowen, of Rapid City.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide