- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 1, 2015

CONCORD, N.H. (AP) - New Hampshire is now the 15th state to bar drivers from using hand-held cellphones while driving.

The new “hands-free” law, in effect as of Wednesday, applies to all hand-held devices, including GPS units, tablets and laptops.

Violators face a $100 fine for the first offense, $250 for a second offense and $500 for subsequent offenses within a 24-month period.

Bluetooth or other hands-free electronic devices will be allowed.

Police say in the last four years, distraction was the cause of 124 crashes on New Hampshire’s roads.


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide