- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 15, 2015

HELENA, Mont. (AP) - The U.S. Secretary of Agriculture has designated 15 Montana counties as natural disaster areas due to drought.

Secretary Tom Vilsack also named nine counties near those 15 as contiguous disaster areas in his Wednesday letter to Gov. Steve Bullock.

The designations make farmers in all 24 counties eligible for emergency loans and other assistance from the Farm Services Agency, depending on the farmers’ losses.

Bullock says low snowpack and rain have left counties throughout Montana struggling with dry conditions.

The 15 primary disaster counties are Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Flathead, Glacier, Granite, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Pondera, Powell, Ravalli, Sanders and Silver Bow.

The nine contiguous disaster counties are Broadwater, Cascade, Chouteau, Jefferson, Liberty, Madison, Meagher, Teton and Toole.

The Montana Drought Advisory Committee meets Thursday in Helena.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide