By Associated Press - Friday, July 24, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - The Federal Emergency Management Agency has approved 12 more Oklahoma counties for disaster assistance following flooding, tornadoes and severe storms in May and June.

Gov. Mary Fallin said Friday that benefits are now available to individuals and business owners affected by severe storms between May 5 and June 22 in Adair, Cherokee, Coal, Delaware, Garvin, Hughes, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Murray, Ottawa and Pontotoc counties.

Thirty-three counties were previously approved for individual assistance. Another 19 counties have been requested, but have not yet received a determination from FEMA.

Fifty-nine counties have been approved for public assistance to help municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and costs associated with responding to the storms.

Fallin says the state is still working to get more counties approved for assistance.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide