- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 29, 2015

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Claiborne County voters will elect a new school board on Nov. 3 as part of the process of returning the district to local control.

Gov. Phil Bryant said Wednesday that qualifying for the special, nonpartisan election will begin Aug. 5. The deadline for candidates to qualify for the five seats is Sept. 4. Two of the seats’ terms will expire in January 2017, two will expire in January 2019 and one will expire in January 2021.

The district will no longer have an elected superintendent, who instead will be appointed by the new board.

The governor on July 7 rescinded the state of emergency in the Claiborne County district. The state took control, appointing a conservator in 2013, citing multiple accreditation violations.

The State Board of Education recently ruled accreditation violations have been corrected, asking Bryant to end the state of emergency.

Aberdeen, Leflore County and Tunica County remain under state control.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide