- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 29, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin says the federal government has rejected the state’s request for disaster assistance for 19 Oklahoma counties affected by severe weather, flooding and tornadoes in May and June.

Fallin said Wednesday the Federal Emergency Management Agency denied the state’s request for assistance to individuals and businesses in those counties.

The 19 counties are Blaine, Craig, Creek, Custer, Dewey, Garfield, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Jackson, Kay, Major, Muskogee, Osage, Pawnee, Roger Mills, Sequoyah, Washita and Woods. Fallin encouraged individuals in the counties to seek help through organizations like the American Red Cross.

FEMA earlier approved 45 counties for individual assistance. Public assistance was approved for all 59 counties where the state sought aid. Aid was sought for damage that occurred between May 5 and June 22 from storms and floods.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide