- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 8, 2015

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Two Kentucky teachers are being recognized with the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Louisville Male High School science teacher Andrew Kemp and East Oldham Middle School math teacher Robyn Morris were among 108 winners around the country.

The award is given annually to K-12 science and mathematics teachers all over the U.S.

Kemp has been a science teacher for more than 30 years. He is a co-author of seven science education journal articles, as well as a middle school science textbook.

Morris has taught middle school math and social studies for 20 years. In her class, Morris concentrates on the workshop model, where students have a mini-lesson, group work time and reflection time.

Winners receive a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide