- Associated Press - Thursday, July 9, 2015

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Add six counties to the federal disaster declaration for Texans damaged by deadly severe weather that began in early May.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency on Thursday announced that Angelina, Erath, Frio, Jim Wells, Montgomery and Trinity counties have been added to the 36 Texas counties previously placed under the disaster declaration. The 42 counties were the ones hardest hit by severe storms, tornadoes, damaging winds and flooding between May 4 and June 19.

FEMA also extended the deadline to apply for individual assistance to Aug. 27.

The disaster assistance for homeowners and renters include assistance with rent, temporary housing, home and business repairs and other disaster-related needs.




Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide