- Associated Press - Monday, June 1, 2015

ST. PAUL, Minn. (AP) - Law enforcement officers ticketed more than 900 people in Minnesota last month for distracted driving - most notably texting behind the wheel.

Beginning on August 1st, fines for repeat offenders will get a lot tougher. The first citation for distracted driving is $50. Every ticket after that is $225.

State Patrol Lt. Tiffani Nelson tells KSTP-TV (https://bit.ly/1FOJqYz ) that taking your eyes off the road for 5 seconds while driving 55 mph will take you the length of a football field. Troopers say distracted driving is to blame for one in four car crashes in Minnesota.

State records show about 3,200 drivers were issued distracted driving citations last year.

___

Information from: KSTP-TV, https://www.kstp.com

LOAD COMMENTS ()

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide