- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 16, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin and the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management are requesting federal aid for 14 additional counties that experienced damage from storms and flooding that have hit the state since May 5.

Fallin announced Tuesday she was requesting public assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency to assist cities, towns and utility cooperatives with infrastructure repairs, debris removal and other storm-related costs.

The 14 counties added to the request are: Craig, Custer, Dewey, Grant, Jefferson, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Major, Noble, Oklahoma, Ottawa, Roger Mills and Wagoner.

So far, FEMA has approved public assistance for 40 of Oklahoma’s 77 counties.

Fallin also requested individual assistance for five additional counties: Creek, Mayes, Pontotoc, Rogers and Tillman.

The federal request comes as another round of storms is expected to push into Oklahoma.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide