- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 17, 2015

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) - Seven Texas counties were added Wednesday to a federal disaster declaration following deadly May storms.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency urged affected individuals in Cooke, Dallas, Fannin, Grayson, Liberty, Nueces and Walker counties to seek assistance.

Overall, people in 30 Texas counties could be eligible for state and federal help, according to FEMA. The declaration involves damage from storms, tornadoes and flooding since May 4.

Two people were killed May 10 when a tornado hit Van, about 60 miles southeast of Dallas. Parts of Central Texas and the Houston area were swamped as Memorial Day weekend flooding claimed more than two dozen lives statewide.

The other 23 Texas counties under the disaster declaration are Bastrop, Blanco, Caldwell, Denton, Eastland, Fort Bend, Gaines, Guadalupe, Harris, Hays, Henderson, Hidalgo, Johnson, Milam, Montague, Navarro, Rusk, Smith, Travis, Wichita, Williamson, Wise and Van Zandt.

“More than 14,000 Texas households have registered with FEMA for assistance,” Greg Hughes, a FEMA spokesman, said Wednesday. “That represents about $26 million approved for disbursement.”

Disaster assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for rent, temporary housing and home repairs. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are also available, according to FEMA.




Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide