- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 23, 2015

TEMPE, Ariz. (AP) - Drivers who smoke with children in their car now risk a fine in Tempe.

A new law designed to encourage drivers to refrain from smoking when they have children in the backseat took effect last Saturday.

The Tempe City Council passed an ordinance last month to fine drivers $50 for a first offense and $100 for subsequent violations if they smoke while a child is in the car.

The Arizona Republic reports the ordinance applies to smokers of all types, including e-cigarette smokers.

However, police can issue a ticket only if drivers are stopped for another infraction such as speeding and have a lit cigarette with a minor present.

A judge could waive the fine for first-time offenders if they enroll in a smoking-cessation program.


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide