- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 23, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin and the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management are asking the Federal Emergency Management Agency for individual disaster assistance in 26 more counties because of tornadoes and flooding that began May 5.

The counties added Tuesday are Adair, Blaine, Cherokee, Coal, Delaware, Dewey, Garfield, Garvin, Greer, Harmon, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Kay, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, Murray, Muskogee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Roger Mills, Sequoyah and Washita. FEMA previously approved individual assistance for 24 counties and 11 other counties are awaiting approval.

If approved, assistance would be available for housing repairs or temporary housing, low-interest loans for individuals and businesses, disaster unemployment assistance, and grants for disaster expenses not met by other programs.

FEMA also previously approved public assistance funds for municipalities, counties and rural electric cooperatives in 54 counties.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide