- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 23, 2015

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Gov. Terry Branstad has issued a disaster proclamation for four Iowa counties affected by recent severe weather.

Branstad issued the proclamation Tuesday for Davis, Humboldt, Monroe and Wright counties. The areas were affected by severe weather Monday.

The proclamation allows officials to use state resources to help affected people. It includes an assistance program that provides grants of up to $5,000 for certain households needing food, clothing and temporary housing.

In Monroe County in southern Iowa, a tornado ripped into a grocery store and nearby homes Monday.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide