- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 3, 2015

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Two more counties have been added to those eligible for assistance with damage caused by severe winter storms in February.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency said local governments and eligible private nonprofit organizations in Ballard and Wayne counties may apply for federal funds to help with the cost of emergency work and repair or replacement of damaged facilities.

The addition brings the number of counties eligible for assistance due to the storms to 29. Counties previously designated are Boyd, Boyle, Caldwell, Clark, Estill, Floyd, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Knott, Knox, Lawrence, Lee, Letcher, Lyon, Marshall, Menifee, Metcalfe, Morgan, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Simpson, Taylor, Washington and Wolfe.

FEMA said Ballard County is also eligible for snow assistance for any continuous 48-hour period associated with the Feb. 15 to Feb. 22 storms.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide