- Associated Press - Thursday, June 4, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Ten more Oklahoma counties have been approved for federal disaster assistance following severe storms in May that caused tornadoes and flooding.

Gov. Mary Fallin said Thursday the Federal Emergency Management Agency had approved the state’s request to add the counties to three others already approved: Cleveland, Grady and Oklahoma counties. The latest declaration includes: Atoka, Bryan, Comanche, Johnston, Kiowa, Le Flore, McClain, McCurtain, Pittsburg and Pottawatomie counties.

The declaration benefits individuals and business owners affected by severe storms since May 5. It allows federal assistance for housing repairs or temporary housing. Still awaiting approval are Okfuskee, Pushmataha and Tulsa counties.

Fallin and the Oklahoma Department of Emergency Management have added nine more counties to their request for individual assistance: Beckham, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Latimer, Marshall, McIntosh, Seminole and Wagoner counties.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide