- Associated Press - Saturday, June 6, 2015

PHILADELPHIA, Miss. (AP) - Incumbent Tribal Chief Phyliss J. Anderson is facing six challengers in Tuesday’s election that will include voting for seats on the Tribal Council.

Polls will be open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Anderson unseated incumbent Chief Beasley Denson in 2011 with 56 percent of the vote to become the first female to lead the 10,000-member Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians, which is headquartered in Neshoba County.

Denson is among candidates for chief in the June election. Others are Billy G. Chickaway, Kevin J. Edwards, Robert Garcia Jr., Austin Tubby and Stella York Willis.

The Nehoba Democrat reports (https://bit.ly/1Mt0MMR ) the ballot will include elections for Tribal Council in the communities of Bogue Chitto, Bogue Homa, Conehatta, Pearl River, Standing Pine, Tucker and Red Water.


Information from: Neshoba Democrat, https://www.neshobademocrat.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide