- Associated Press - Monday, June 8, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - Poet Claudia Rankine has won another award, this time from PEN, while debut author Jack Livings received a $25,000 prize from the literary and human rights organization.

The PEN American Center announced Monday night that Livings had won the PEN/Robert W. Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction for “The Dog,” a collection of stories set in China. Rankine received the PEN Open Book Award and $5,000 for “Citizen: An American Lyric,” which previously won the National Book Critics Circle prize for poetry.

Also Monday, Ian Buruma won the $10,000 PEN/Diamonstein-Spielvogel Award for essay writing for “Theater of Cruelty.” The PEN/Fusion Emerging Writers Prize, also worth $10,000, was given to Adriana E. Ramírez for “Dead Boys,” an unpublished work about violence along the U.S.-Latin America border.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide