- Associated Press - Thursday, March 26, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin has declared a state of emergency for 25 counties due to tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding.

The storms crossed the state Wednesday and left at least one person dead when what is believed to have been a tornado struck a mobile home park at Sand Springs.

The order allows state agencies to make emergency purchases and acquisitions needed to expedite the delivery of resources to local jurisdictions. It is also is a first step toward seeking federal assistance should it be necessary and can be amended to add additional counties as warranted.

The counties included in the declaration are: Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cleveland, Comanche, Creek, Garvin, Grady, Lincoln, Logan, Love, McClain, Murray, Oklahoma, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Rogers, Seminole, Stephens, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington and Washita.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide