- Associated Press - Thursday, March 5, 2015

WASHINGTON (AP) - Previous Walter Payton Award winner Charles Tillman and four others are finalists for the Byron “Whizzer” White Award given annually by the NFL Players Association for community service in players’ cities and hometowns.

Bears cornerback Tillman, the 2013 Payton recipient as the league’s Man of the Year for his charitable work, is joined by Chiefs punter Dustin Colquitt, Vikings linebacker Chad Greenway, Eagles safety Malcolm Jenkins, and Giants linebacker Jameel McClain.

The winner, who will receive $100,000 for his foundation or a charity of his choice, will be announced March 18 at the NFLPA’s annual meetings in Hawaii.

The award is named for Supreme Court Justice Byron Raymond “Whizzer” White, a scholar, athlete, humanitarian and public servant. Each team nominated players.

Last year’s winner was 49ers receiver Anquan Boldin.


AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org and www.twitter.com/AP_NFL

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide