- Associated Press - Sunday, May 10, 2015

ATHENS, Greece (AP) - Olympiakos was officially crowned Greek league champion for the 42nd time, and 17th in the past 19 seasons, after a 1-1 draw at Platanias in the final round of the season.

An own goal by Tassos Avlonitis gave Platanias the lead in the 17th minute and Franco Jara equalized in the 87th.

Olympiakos ended the season 12 points ahead of Panathinaikos, which beat Giannena 3-1 to overtake PAOK for second place. PAOK drew 0-0 at Panionios.

Panathinaikos, PAOK, fourth-place Asteras and fifth Atromitos will enter a home-and-away playoffs, with the winner clinching a berth in next season’s Champions League alongside Olympiakos.

Levadiakos became the fourth relegated team alongside Ergotelis, OFI and Niki, the last two already been expelled due to financial troubles.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide