- Associated Press - Monday, May 11, 2015

NASHVILLE, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas Gov. Asa Hutchinson has issued a disaster proclamation for 10 counties after touring some of the damage from Sunday night’s storms that killed two people.

Hutchinson issued the proclamation Monday for Franklin, Garland, Howard, Izard, Johnson, Montgomery, Newton, Pike, Pope and Searcy counties.

The governor toured damage mostly in Nashville, where two residents were killed, but Hutchinson’s staff says the other counties experienced damage.

Hutchinson says in a statement that Arkansans are familiar with severe weather and offered his condolences to the families of the victims.

The National Weather Service sent investigators to Nashville Monday, and forecasters say it appears an EF-2 storm with winds up to 125 mph had touched down.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide