- Associated Press - Monday, May 11, 2015

GLASGOW, Scotland (AP) - Fiji, New Zealand and South Africa are the first nations to qualify for the Olympic debut of men’s rugby sevens at next summer’s Games in Rio.

The three teams qualified through the results achieved at the Sevens World Series ahead of the final leg of the competition in London. They joined Brazil, which is automatically qualified as the host nation.

The top four nations in this year’s Sevens World Series qualify for the Olympic tournament, with England currently fourth, 16 points ahead of Australia. The hosts will secure qualification for a British team either if they reach the quarterfinals next weekend in London or Australia fails to make it to the last-eight.

Seven-a-side rugby will feature at the 2016 Olympics for the first time.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide