- Associated Press - Saturday, May 2, 2015

WASHINGTON (AP) - South Dakota Sen. Mike Rounds will be co-chairman of a congressional group called the Former Governors Caucus that also includes North Dakota Sen. John Hoeven.

Rounds served as South Dakota’s governor from 2003-2011 and fellow Republican Hoeven was governor of North Dakota from 2000-2010.

Rounds says the caucus is a coalition of lawmakers who want to use their experience as former state executives to work across party lines toward solutions to the nation’s problems.

The Former Governors Caucus began in 2013. Besides Rounds and Hoeven, members include eight other senators: Republicans Lamar Alexander, of Tennessee, and James Risch, of Idaho; Democrats Tom Carper, of Delaware, Tim Kaine, of Virginia, Joe Manchin, of West Virginia, Jeanne Shaheen, of New Hampshire, and Mark Warner, of Virginia; and Independent Angus King, of Maine.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide