- Associated Press - Sunday, May 3, 2015

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) - The deadline to submit nominations for the highest civilian honor bestowed by the state of North Carolina has been extended.

The new deadline to submit nominations for the North Carolina Awards is May 8. The previous deadline was April 24.

The state Department of Cultural Resources administers the award, which is given out by the governor and which recognizes notable accomplishments by North Carolina citizens in the fields of literature, science, fine arts and public service.

Past recipients include poet Maya Angelou, singer James Taylor, historian John Hope Franklin, evangelist Billy Graham, musician Branford Marsalis, artist Romare Bearden, Nobel Prize winner Gertrude Elion and the longtime president of the University of North Carolina, William Friday.

Recipients will be honored in November at a ceremony led by Gov. Pat McCrory.



To submit a nomination: https://www.ncdcr.gov/NCAwards/Nominations/Submit

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide