- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. (AP) - Final results from the Navajo Nation presidential election show Russell Begaye winning nearly 63 percent of the vote to defeat Joe Shirley Jr.

Begaye had 25,902 votes to Shirley’s 15,245 in the April 21 contest. About one-third of Navajos registered to vote in the special election cast a ballot for president.

The results are slightly different from election night and reflect counts from provisional ballots. Shirley’s campaign also had requested a manual recount of 10 precincts to check the voting systems.

Begaye and Vice President Jonathan Nez will be sworn in Tuesday. They succeed Ben Shelly and Rex Lee Jim, who served an extended term while officials sorted out the chaos that arose when one candidate was challenged on his ability to speak fluent Navajo as required by tribal law.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide