- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 6, 2015

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Legislation making Oklahoma the fourth state in the nation to require women to wait at least 72 hours before receiving an abortion has been signed into law.

The measure was signed Wednesday by Republican Gov. Mary Fallin. It increases from 24 to 72 hours the amount of time a woman must wait after a doctor provides her with details about an abortion, including the age of the fetus, risks involved and that ultrasound and heart monitoring are available.

Fallin says the law gives a woman more time to consider the medical risks and explore alternatives to abortion. It goes into effect on Nov. 1.

The nonprofit Guttmacher Institute says only three other states have 72-hour waiting periods: Missouri, South Dakota and Utah.



House Bill 1409: https://bit.ly/1JUEx0l

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide