- Associated Press - Friday, May 8, 2015

IRVING, Texas (AP) - The Dallas Cowboys signed fifth-round pick Ryan Russell and seventh-rounder Mark Nzeocha (en-ZAH-chuh) on Friday and released linebacker Dekoda Watson and waived linebacker Troy Davis and tackle Donald Hawkins.

Russell is a defensive end out of Purdue, and Nzechoa is a linebacker from Wyoming. They were among the five defensive players drafted by Dallas.

Receivers George Farmer of Southern California and Antwan Goodley of Baylor were among the undrafted free agents at the first day of rookie minicamp Friday.

The only quarterback signed to a rookie free agent deal was UTEP’s Jameill Showers, who lost a battle with Johnny Manziel for the starting job at Texas A&M; in 2012 before transferring.

Watson played in one regular-season game last year and in both playoff games.


AP NFL website: www.pro32.ap.org and www.twitter.com/AP_NFL

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide