- Associated Press - Saturday, May 9, 2015

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - The South Dakota Senate GOP caucus has elected a new leadership.

Saturday’s election comes about a month after Senate Majority Leader Tim Rave and Assistant Majority Leader Dan Lederman resigned shortly after the 2015 legislative session ended.

The caucus’s new majority leader is Sen. Corey Brown of Gettysburg and the assistant majority leader is Sen. Jim White of Huron.

The three majority whips now are Sens. Alan Solano of Rapid City, Ernie Otten of Tea, and Deb Soholt of Sioux Falls.

Senate Republicans nominated Sen. Gary Cammack of Union Center to serve as president pro tempore. The vote to elect the legislator who will fill that role will be held the next time the full Senate convenes.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide