- Associated Press - Monday, November 2, 2015

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi voters on Tuesday will elect eight statewide officials, six regional commissioners and 174 legislators. Two school funding proposals are also on the ballot.



Governor- Republican Phil Bryant seeks a second term. He is challenged by Democrat Robert Gray, a truck driver running a low-budget campaign; and the Reform Party’s Shawn O’Hara, who has run unsuccessfully for several offices the past two decades.

Lieutenant Governor - Republican Tate Reeves seeks a second term. He is outspending Democrat Tim Johnson, a former Republican state senator who switched parties to challenge Reeves. Libertarian Ron Williams and the Reform Party’s Rosa B. Williams are running low-budget campaigns.

Secretary of State - Republican Delbert Hosemann seeks a third term. Democrat Charles E. Graham and the Reform Party’s Randy Walker have spent little to campaign.

Attorney General - Democrat Jim Hood seeks a fourth term. In this year’s most competitive statewide race, he is challenged by Republican Mike Hurst, a former federal prosecutor.

Auditor - Republican Stacey Pickering seeks a third term and is outspending Democrat Jocelyn “Joce” Pepper Pritchett and the Reform Party’s Lajena Walley.

Treasurer - Republican Lynn Fitch seeks a second term. She faces a Reform Party candidate, Viola V. McFarland, who has spent little.

Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce - Republican Cindy Hyde-Smith seeks a second term and is outspending Democrat Addie Lee Green and the Reform Party’s Cathy L. Toole.

Insurance commissioner - Republican Mike Chaney is unopposed in seeking a third term.



Public Service Commission

- Northern District: Democrat Brandon Presley seeks a third term. He faces Republican Mike Maynard.

- Central District: Democratic state Rep. Cecil Brown, Republican Brent Bailey and the Reform Party’s LaTrice D. Notree are running for an open seat.

- Southern District: Democrat Tom Blanton, Republican Samuel F. “Sam” Britton and the Reform Party’s Lonny Kenneth Spence are running for an open seat.

Transportation Commission

- Northern District: Republican incumbent Mike Tagert seeks a second full term. He faces Democrat Danny Woods.

- Central District: Republican Dick Hall seeks a fourth full term. He faces Democratic state Rep. Mary H. Coleman.

- Southern District: Republican Tom King seeks a second term. He faces Democrat Danny Woods and the Reform Party’s Sheranda Atkinson.



Initiative 42 got on the ballot through a citizen petition process. It says: “Should the state be required to provide for the support of an adequate and efficient system of free public schools?”

Alternative Measure 42-A was put on the ballot as an alternative by legislators who oppose 42. It says: “Should the Legislature provide for the establishment and support of effective free public schools without judicial enforcement?”

The ballot has a two-part voting process. The first vote is either to accept one of the proposals or to reject them both. The second vote is to choose between 42 and 42-A.

Adopting one of the proposed constitutional amendments requires two things:

- On the accept/reject question, a majority vote is needed to accept.

- On the second part, one of the proposals must receive at least 40 percent of the total number of votes cast in Tuesday’s election.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide