- Associated Press - Sunday, November 22, 2015

BOSTON (AP) - Massachusetts is handing out its annual Firefighter of the Year Awards.

The awards ceremony is scheduled for Monday at Kresge Auditorium on the campus of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Gov. Charlie Baker, Public Safety Secretary Daniel Bennett and State Fire Marshal Stephen Coan are scheduled to attend and hand out the awards for acts of bravery.

Several awards will be given out, including the Medal of Valor, Individual Meritorious Conduct, Group Meritorious Conduct, the Norman Knight for Excellence in Community Service and an Excellence in Leadership Award.

Firefighters from Boston, Bourne, Chelsea, Brookline, Falmouth, Framingham, Greenfield, Lawrence, Lowell, Marblehead, the Massachusetts Port Authority, Melrose, Nantucket, Norwood, Palmer, Three Rivers, Revere, Saugus, Taunton, Turners Falls, Westwood and Worcester will be honored.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide